There she goes

DSC_9215

About a week ago, inspired by the sunny California weather, Miri stood up and walked across the room. After her initial drunk-stumbles, she came to the conclusion that this walking thing might be even more efficient than crawling. I’m not sure who’s more proud, me or her. I’m a little embarrassed that I was actually worried about her not walking yet…but I guess that’s my job as her mom. Now I’ll just have to find something else to worry about. It blows my mind that a year ago, she couldn’t even hold up her own head, and now she’s running away from us in search of adventures.

DSC_9220

I’ve also realized how my perspective on babies and kids has changed. I used to see little kids in terms of what they couldn’t yet do. For a example, a little toddler stumbling around wasn’t very coordinated or able to run yet. A babbling baby couldn’t talk yet. But now after spending a year watching Miri turn into this little person, I see kids in terms of what they couldn’t do yesterday. A little toddler stumbling around is taking her first steps that she couldn’t do without holding on yesterday. A babbling baby is trying out new noises that she wasn’t able to make yesterday.

No matter where her adventures take her, it’s always nice to reach up and find Daddy ready to help..

DSC_9222

Leave a Reply

