The magic of poutine

I’m of two minds about Miri’s walking: one, she can walk whenever the hell she wants to walk, whenever she’s ready. She’s fine, and normal, and it’s no big deal. No one ever didn’t get in to MIT because they weren’t walking by 12 months. But then the outside world (i.e. other mombies and babies) encroaches on my bubble and I see other babies younger than Miri walking, and their mamas smugly say, “Oh enjoy it while you can! Because once they’re walking…” and I wonder if Miri is going to be like the family in Turkey that walks on all fours.

Today I was putting away clothes in Miri’s room and she just wandered in, then continued walking across the floor like it was nothing. About twelve steps. I think it was the poutine she had for lunch. That stuff has magical powers.

Speaking of food, I’m having internal conflict between the me who doesn’t share food and the me who is so proud of Miri eating everything. Yesterday for lunch she devoured a veggie masala burger with hummus, then had a chicken verde tamale and some California rolls for dinner. For lunch today we shared poutine then she stole some tomatoes and avocado out of my salad. She is the only person in existence who can reach over and take food off my plate without even asking and not get the side-eye from me. Because Rose doesn’t share food. To be completely honest, the best part about her eating everything is that it makes less work for this Lazy Mom. But it’s also pretty cute watching her deconstruct a sushi roll. I’d show you a picture, but, that would be a photo of a baby with food on her face, and I don’t do that.

2014-08-24 14.10.46-1

One thought on “The magic of poutine

  1. Wow! Of course we had to look up what poutine was to understand its true magic power! Chips and gravy?! Double wow – very Northern! 😉 X

Leave a Reply

