Say aye to the dress

I’m very very happy and excited and thrilled to be getting married to my favorite person and best friend. I can’t wait. But, first there’s this whole wedding thing, which entails a bit of planning. And as much as I scoff at huge elaborate weddings planned years in advance, it turns out that at least a few months lead-time is kind of necessary for sufficient planning, even for a semi-eloping-destination wedding such as ours. That said, we’re trying to keep it simple as possible, so the planning isn’t too stressful. Which is a good thing, but I’m not a party-planner. I do love planning vacations and travel however. I don’t even usually like parties or gatherings, too many people for my comfort zone. Not to mention I’m distinctly uncomfortable being the center of attention, and being the bride that is sort of unavoidable at one’s own wedding. But using the interwebs and email alone, I must say I’ve done a pretty good job so far: We’ve been engaged for one month, and we’ve set the date, sent out save-the-dates (online of course, cheap and easy! I mean eco-friendly. Yep, that’s it.) I’ve booked the wedding ceremony venue (nothing fancy, just a wee castle), our accommodation (same castle), a photographer, and a piper. I found and booked an officiant to marry us (yes, the whole thing will be legal and recognized in the US), she’s a humanist celebrant. She has been absolutely lovely to work with! She lives just a few miles from the castle we’re getting married in, and it turns out she was married there herself so it will be quite special to her. She recommended the photographer and piper and negotiated good deals for us, so I was able to confirm their availability through her. All that’s left, for the time being, are booking airline flights and the reception (“wedding breakfast,” as the Scots would say) venue. Little things like flowers and kilt hire can be done later on.

Oh yeah, and The Dress.

If you haven’t already picked up on it, the overall theme for the wedding is SIMPLE. Well, and Scotland and castles and whisky. So of course I’m thinking I want a very simple dress. I do NOT want to look like a cupcake, or a cake topper. No strapless ballgowns, no trains, no blingity-bling. Maybe lace, maybe a simple sheath style, maybe something vintage…all while being something appropriate for  a castle. Not a tall order, right? I’m pretty sure those are famous last words uttered by every bride-to-be as she embarks on the Dress Shopping Adventure. I’m not exactly sure what I’m looking for but I’ll know it when I see it….right?

Lace, simple, ivory, cap sleeves (have to be added)…all things I thought I wanted. But it just didn’t seem to work. Can’t put my finger on it.

After the first couple of dress stores, I do have a much better idea of what I don’t want. No v-necks (too much cleavage!), no strapless (I hate exposing my shoulders. I must have weird Amish blood in me or something). Although one of my favorite gowns was strapless…simply confusing me even more.

Mum says, "A train? Really?"

If I went strapless I could always wear a little shrug or bolero jacket…hey, I could even knit one!

But…then I found the tartan gown. I snickered at first, but kept coming back to it…it is certainly fairly unique, and an ivory lace knit shrug would be nice with it…

Just some tartan thoughts to ponder. So, no decision on the dress yet. Still shopping.

5 thoughts on “Say aye to the dress

  1. I think a bolero made by you is a great idea! For sure a tartan sash or something like that. Those tartan dresses are awesome!

  2. I went to Scotland with my best friend when she got married there. I forget where they got married but it was an old blacksmith shop famous for being places underage Englanders went to get married (because it is just over the border). For their wedding night we stayed in a Castle. Breakfast int eh morning was scrambled eggs and caviar….one of the best damn breakfasts I have every had. I look forward to more details and pictures. PS…love the Scottish wedding dresses! Get you one!

  3. once while i was perusing the internet i came across the picture that you have on your blog (the one of the couple – second from the bottom). The picture was from a website that actually sold chiffon-like tartan scarves. I can no longer find this website…do you have the source of the picture that you have?

Leave a Reply

