Random updates

A few weeks ago, I was pondering some random things. So I’m back to give some updates and opinions on those random things.

[file under personal hygiene] The crunchy side of me became interested in eliminating unnecessary chemicals from my beauty regimen, namely with the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) and by “washing” my hair with a baking soda and apple cider vinegar. At first glance, both of these intrigued me: natural AND frugal! I tried both for a couple of weeks.

OCM Verdict: I mixed 2 parts olive oil to 1 part castor oil, and added a couple of drops of tea tree oil. I used it about every night for a couple of weeks. I did love the way my skin felt after I washed it, but didn’t see an overall improvement in my complexion (maybe even had more breakouts?). I might continue with it once a week or so, and I’m still trying to find a face soap that I really like anyway.

BS & ACV Verdict: Nope. I had to experiment with this one a bit. First, I mixed 1 tbs baking soda with 8 oz water, then squeezed the mixture over my wet hair in the shower, tried to massage it in to my scalp, and rinsed. Then I squirted the ACV mixture (1 tbs to 8 oz water) on my ends as a “conditioner.” My hair did not seem very clean afterwards, it wasn’t shiny or easy to comb through and not nice to run my fingers through it. So, next I tried applying the BS mixture to my hair dry. Lather, rinse repeat. Same unimpressive findings. Next, I tried mixing a paste of BS and water, about equal parts, and massaged it into my scalp. Hair seemed a bit cleaner afterwards but nothing like with regular shampoo, and I definitely could not have gone more than two days without washing it again. I wonder if this method failed because I have such long, thick hair, and it was almost impossible to really get to my scalp and scrub it. But I did a bit more googling and found others have been disenchanted with this method as well. So, I’m back to my organic natural shampoo and conditioner, which I can get away with using every third or fourth day if I rinse my hair well daily.

Leave a Reply

