In the kitchen

Pardon the poor-quality iPhone photos!

I’m gearing up for my first OAMC. That’s Once a Month Cook, for those of you who still cook on daily basis. Don’t worry, I didn’t even know the interwebs had a term for this, but of course they do. This is something I’ve always sort of been intrigued by, and now that we have a chest freezer in the garage I figured I’d take the leap and give it a try. I’m using the recipes and tips from Once a Month Mom,(ignore the mom part of that, all you nosy-parker womb-watchers out there, there is no significance to it!) because the site has a pretty big selection of menu types (whole foods, traditional, gluten-free) and it gives you shopping lists and printable recipe cards. I picked the “whole foods” menu because I’m kinda crunchy like that. I’d like to be able to figure out my own recipes and plans, but for the first month I’ll stick to the recipes and lists provided while I get the hang of the organization of it all.

I eliminated a couple of the recipes and the corresponding ingredients from the shopping list. For example, I didn’t want to buy a five pound beef brisket just to make a couple of meals of Italian beef sandwiches. I did the grocery shopping Friday night, then started some of the prep work. The chicken is in the slow-cooker and I washed and chopped all the veggies. Except for the herbs…I wasn’t sure how they’d hold up in the fridge chopped overnight? I made the crepe batter so it can rest overnight in the refrigerator. So far, so good. I’ll update you with the real verdict after tomorrow’s marathon of cooking and freezing…

Slow cooker!

Leave a Reply

